7.6 C
Washington,US
Friday, November 17, 2017
Home Entertainment Media What time are the Grammys? Here’s everything you need to know

What time are the Grammys? Here’s everything you need to know

7
0


These artists will face off for the 2017 Grammys’ top prizes. (Photo: Getty/Invision/AP)

Whether you’re watching the Grammy Awards for the red carpet, the performances or simply for Beyoncé, here’s what you need to know before tuning in Sunday.

What time are the Grammys?

The Grammy Awards will be broadcast live on CBS on Sunday, Feb. 12, at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT.

How can I watch?

The Grammys are broadcast live from the Staples Center in Los Angeles on CBS, and will be available to stream online via CBS All Access. For red carpet coverage, Entertainment Tonight hosts CBS’ pre-Grammys coverage, starting at 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT. E! will also feature live red carpet coverage , starting at 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT, which will also stream live on E!’s mobile app.

Who is hosting?

The Late Late Show host James Corden replaces longtime Grammy host LL Cool J this year. .

“Thanks to ‘Carpool Karaoke,’ we’ve all been on some incredible rides with James,” Recording Academy President and CEO Neil Portnow said. So get ready to sing along.

Who is nominated?

Beyoncé continues her run as the most-nominated female artist in Grammys history, leading the nominations with nine nods, including album, song and record of the year. In a three-way tie for second place are Drake, Kanye West and Rihanna, earning eight nominations each.

Grammys newcomer Chance the Rapper benefited from the Recording Academy’s new amendment that allows streaming-only releases to be eligible, earning the rapper seven nominations, including a best new artist nod. Adele also joins Beyoncé with nominations in the big three categories, entering the Grammys with five nods overall.

Who is performing?

Beyonce will perform, adding to a long list of artists that includes Katy Perry, Adele, Lady Gaga and Metallica, the Weeknd, Daft Punk, Carrie Underwood, Bruno Mars, Keith Urban, Anderson .Paak, A Tribe Called Quest, Kelsea Ballerini and Lukas Graham.

How will musicians who died in the last year be remembered?

Grammy nominee Cynthia Erivo and 10-time Grammy winner John Legend will perform a tribute to those from the music community who died. On Wednesday, the Recording Academy announced special plans for tributes to George Michael and Prince.

“George Michael and Prince were pop icons who showcased rare musical genius and otherworldly charisma,” Portnow said.. “While each possessed a distinct style and sound, they were both adored by audiences worldwide. The passings of two such creative innovators were a huge loss for the creative community.” Specific details of those tributes were not released.

More Grammys 2017 coverage:

Read or Share this story: http://usat.ly/2k7iYmm



Source link